top of page
hh.png

Person of the Month - October Edition




If you look closely at animals, you'll notice that they're very similar to humans. They have families, communicate with one another, hunt for food, and defend one another against harm. These creatures have feelings, too. Although some animals should not be kept in cages in our homes and would be much happier in their natural habitats (for example, the wild or safari), there are still small animals that we would all like to adopt: dogs, cats, rabbits, hedgehogs, turtles, or guinea pigs.


The Committee on Research and Publications prepared a special treat to honor our beloved pets and, of course, their proud owners, in honor of St. Francis of Assisi's Feast Day. Elizah Bacani, a PLM student and an 18-year-old teen, gave us the opportunity to chat with her and learn about her pets! Read on to learn more about her ten-year journey as a pet owner:


JPMAP: Tell us something about your journey before owning a pet.

Elizah: My dad will never admit it, but we got our first family pet –A Shih Tzu named Fuego — to help our family cope with my mom’s absence from working abroad. Owning a pet has helped me figure myself out more because even if I wasn’t alone in providing for it, there was a sense of responsibility inflicted upon me, knowing that there was someone completely dependent to my being. Although I don’t have my life altogether, I am confident that I would’ve turned out to be much more irresponsible, negatively complacent, and not as emphatic, as I am today if it wasn’t for these mini creatures that I consider as family.


JPMAP: What is/are your pet’s most amusing memory?

Elizah: Each of them is unique in their own ways, recently, Siri — also the latest addition to the family — has figured out how to get into another room by opening the door set for our four-legged pals. She’s also learned how to behave better while traveling, although it’s minimized due to the pandemic, and I’m amazed by how she has injected herself as part of the family, considering that she’s a bit timid and aloof to humans for her kind.


JPMAP: What is the most difficult aspect of owning a pet?

Elizah: Removing all the sugar coating, it’s tiring. Again, these little individuals are completely fending on you and while it’s an inspiration to get up every day, it’s another responsibility to you and like getting a kid to take care of. It’s also harder to leave your babies behind, I dread calls/texts from my mom beginning with: “Si Kio…” or “Si Siri…” when I’m away; As if I’m a parent asking updates from a babysitter. I just can’t help but worry.



JPMAP: What is the most satisfying aspect of owning a pet?

Elizah: It’s having someone. As a person who refuses to spill it all out, and is still getting it together, I value the fact that they provide warmth, company, and loyalty. It doesn’t matter if you’re sobbing, angry, overly joyed, they’ll be by your side (hoping you have treats for them, lol).


JPMAP: What is the one question that you would like to ask your pet?

Elizah: What’s your dream day like?


JPMAP: Do you have any tips for fellow dog owners or prospective dog owners?

Elizah: It’s important to also have someone else to raise your dog with, although they are very much drawn to their owners and would most likely have a favorite, they cannot fend for themselves, you have to be there for them every time, and we can’t always be that. It’s also for their own sake that we admit we need help sometimes, not necessarily a co-owner, but at least have someone know that you have a pet with you, and you’ll gladly appreciate their helping hand at times.


JPMAP: Do you have any favorite activities that you enjoy doing with your pet? What exactly are they?

Elizah: Whenever I get the feeling of burning myself out, I tend to push everyone away, and of course, my babies would think that’s the best time to sneak into my room and refuse to leave. I treasure those moments. Whether I’m bummed out of joy and the adrenaline has run dry, or, I don’t want to attend another class anymore, they just love creeping in during the quiet moments and making me feel that I am not alone.


JPMAP: Has your pet even been in a traumatic accident? How did you manage to overcome it?

Elizah: They’ve never been involved in a traumatic accident –if you’d exclude some casual visits to the Vet –they just find it difficult to be left at home, which is completely normal, in order to deal with it, we try to find time out of our busy schedules to at least bring them outside despite the pandemic, and also acquire some quality time with family.

13 views0 comments

Comments


ss.png
5.png
ss.png
bottom of page