top of page
hh.png

Women's Month 2022

Updated: Jul 24, 2022


Who run the world? #Girls!

Women had accomplished great things in history. Florence Nightingale, known as the lady with the lamp, was the first to established modern nursing and changed health care systems in the past. In 2018, Angela Ponce changed the history as she was the first transgender woman competed at the Miss Universe pageant. Also, did you know that the first Filipino who received the Nobel Prize was a woman? Maria Ressa, a journalist and the CEO of Rappler was the first Filipino to receive the Nobel Peace Prize in 2021. And there are a lot more women who is yet to be recognized for their brilliance and for breaking barriers. Annually, we celebrate Women's Month. A whole month dedicated to recognize women and their achievements. A month of empowerment.


Women's Month originated way back the year 1981. The US Congress continuously passed laws that proclaims March 7 as the "Women's History Week". This proclamation aimed to reward specific achievements from women worldwide. Later on, it became a celebration done worldwide. It was under former President Corazon C. Aquino when Women's Month was passed unto the Philippine Constitution. She signed on March 1, 1988 the Proclamation No. 224 c. 1988 which states, "Declaring the First Week of March of Every Year as Women's Week...". Two years later, Aquino passed Republic Act 6949 s. 1990 which declares March 8 of Every Year as Special Working Holiday.


For years, the Philippine Commission on Women organized themes that would ignite the activities to be done during the month of March. In 2017, PCW announced the theme to be used until the year 2022 --"We Make Change Work for Women". PCW stated that "It highlights the empowerment of women as active contributors to and claimholders of development". This specific themed aimed to "gauge the changes implemented towards GEWE, pursuant to laws on women, particularly the Magna Carta for Women".


As the year 2022 starts, the 2022 National Women's Month Celebration presented a sub-theme titled "Agenda ng Kababaihan, Tungo sa Kaunlaran". This highlights women and their choices, their voices, and prioritize their concerns. Years and years, we continuously fought women's rights, gender equality, and empowerment to achieve a common goal of uniting the marginalized, unrepresented, and discriminated sectors of society in order to foster a gender-equal community- free of the stigma of femininity. Women symbolizes life itself, delicate yet courageous beings. This is a reminder to all the women out there that no one can invalidate your choices in life. No dream is too big or small for a woman with power, “babae ka, hindi babae lang.”


Here are some dedicated messages from the JPMAP-PLM officers for the special women in their lives:


"To my Mom and Nana, for all the times you’ve brought a smile and made my days seem brighter. Happy Women’s Month! 🥰" - Raven Salonga

For mama, To the toughest and warmest woman I'll ever know, I know there is always a reason for everything you do, and I know that you always think of our well-being first. Being a mom is already a big responsibility, but you, trying to be my friend, ally, and confidant, brought me more courage to try new things and keep pushing forward. So I think my "thank yous" and "I love yous" are not enough to express my gratitude to have you as my mom. That's why this National Women's Month, in an attempt to show you how I feel, I'd like you to be part of our organization's celebration post hihi <3 I love you always!!! Your loveliest daughter sa balat ng lupa, Lad
For Nanay To our favorite Abuela, You always try to be understanding, ikaw na po ata pinakamabait na taong kilala ko and everything becomes better kapag nandyan ka. I'll always be grateful for being your apo <3 Thank you Nanay for everything! Cheers to more days full of happiness and laughter, I love you Nanay!!! Your pinakamabait na apo, Lad - Laryna Mallari

"Maraming salamat sa lahat ng paghihirap, pagtatyaga at pagsasakripisyo nyo po sa akin at sa amin magkakapatid. Kahit na hindi tayo madalas magkaintindihan thank you pa rin dahil nan dyan ka pa rin po. I love you mommy" - LJ Altarejos

Happy international women's month ma! we appreciate everything you have done for us :> we love you ♡ - Apple Villaespin

Hellooow~ Happy International women's mooonth!! Not good with words but you are greatly appreciated😘. Labyu, ma. muah💋❤️ - Nicole Angeline Santos

I can live through any hardship everyday because mama and penny support me. Love you!! Thank you!! And Happy National Women's month to both of you. -macriz to her mom and sis - Macriz Macapagal

Because of you three, I am who I am now. Your beauty and determination have been passed down from generation to generation. I admire and look up to the three of you because you are the strongest individuals I know, and even though you appear to be bearing all of the world's problems, I know you thought about quitting, but I'm grateful and fascinated that you chose to stand up and fight these challenges. I'd like to express my gratitude to you all for not giving up on us. I promise that I will remember all you have said to us, and that one day I will be just like you, a wonderful daughter, mother, and grandma. Happy International Women's Day, wonderful ladies! - Aira Garcia

Hi mami, you deserve to be recognized this Women's Month because to me, you are the strongest person I know and there is never a moment you weren't there for us, you are always one call away ika nga. Thank you for taking good care of our family ❤️ - Eunice Guevarra

Lola Thank you so much for your undivided support for me, you are my role model and you are one of the reasons I strive to become the best version of who I am today. I love you so much ❤️ - Aila Ferrer

To my mama, Thank you for all the love, support and sacrifices. I look up to you not just as my mother but as a woman. I promise to be the person you have always dreamt me to be, as strong as you and as independent as I can. Happy Women's Month, mama! I love you! 💖 - Mary Grace Chua
58 views0 comments
ss.png
5.png
ss.png
11.png
12.png
13.png
14.png
bottom of page